31 Mar How to block someone on LinkedIn
Here’s what you need to know to block someone on LinkedIn (step by step):
- Blocking does not apply to information that you make public, such as your public profile, content that you have posted in public (open) group discussions, your public posts, or your comments in the influencer’s activity stream.
- Common contacts can share content created by the person you’ve blocked from your flow. What will be shown in your news feed?
- Right now, there is no way to block someone and prevent private users from viewing your profile.
- The profile lock function is not available between a user and a group administrator.
- If you want to block an administrator from a group that you belong to, you must first leave the group and then block that person.
- If you want to block a member of a group that you manage, you will need to remove that member from the group and then block them.
- Contact records that have been stored or saved locally on your device will need to be manually removed.
- If you access LinkedIn through your mobile phone, you may see the cached data of the blocked member’s profile. To update your cache, log in and out of your LinkedIn mobile apps.
- The blocking feature does not currently apply to SlideShare and LinkedIn Articles (formerly Pulse)
How to know if you have been blocked on LinkedIn
When blocking a user on LinkedIn, the following will happen:
- You will not be able to access the other’s profile on LinkedIn (it will be shown as an unavailable profile).
- Will not be able to send each other messages on LinkedIn.
- You will not be able to see the shared content of the other.
- If you are contacted, you will cease to be.
- We will remove the endorsements and recommendations from that member.
- You will not appear in the section Who has seen your profile?
- We will stop recommending each other on roles like People You May Know and Other Viewed Profiles.
- You will not receive notifications about a future LinkedIn event. Note: An attendee can only block an organizer after they have left the event.
- Members of a group cannot block the administrator (group owners or administrators) as administrators need to have access to and control the group to moderate posts, sign-ups, and other activities. To block an administrator, you need to remove the administrator’s permissions.
- Only you can “unblock” the user and, in most cases, LinkedIn will not notify them that you have blocked them.